Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The State of Texas requires that any person or establishment that sells or provides alcoholic beverages, whether to take out or consume on the premises, must have a license. This includes temporary permits for special events.
The Texas Alcoholic and Beverage Commission (TABC) is responsible for issuing licenses and enforcing licensing laws. TABC has a list of requirements that need to be met before a license is issued and should be the first agency to contact. You can find licensing information online.
Regional TABC office contact information is:Texas Alcoholic and Beverage Commission100 N Getty StreetUvalde County Court House, Box 2Uvalde, TX 78801Phone: 830-278-3415Fax: 830-591-0398
One of Texas Alcoholic and Beverage Commission's (TABC) requirements is that the application for a license be certified by the City Secretary of the community where the proposed business will be located. In order to do this, the City Secretary must first confirm that the property has been assigned the proper classification/designation in accordance with local laws as follows:
Congratulations, you are already ahead of the pack! All you need is to bring the Texas Alcoholic and Beverage Commission (TABC) application to the City Secretary who will certify the status of your property. Charge for each certification is $15.
All properties within city limits have a zoning district classification such as:
In order to change the classification, an ordinance has to be passed by the City Council. In considering zoning changes, several factors are substantially reviewed, such as:
The process takes approximately 3 months, starts with an application and ends with adoption of the ordinance. Cost for application is $150. Please contact the Planning Department for more information.
The process to designate a property as a wet zone is very similar to a zoning change except for small differences in the application and list of requirements. An ordinance also has to be passed by the City Council.
In considering a designation, several factors are substantially reviewed, such as:
The process takes about 4 months. Application cost is $150. Please contact the Office of the City Secretary for more information.
Texas Alcoholic and Beverage Commission (TABC) issues temporary permits in two scenarios:
Again, as part of TABC's process, the City is required to certify the application as to the proper classification or designation. Please contact TABC for more information on temporary permits.
Please note that conversion of an existing building from its original use to a store, bar or restaurant will require the issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy. This involves a City review of the property to determine compliance with the zoning and building safety codes. Please contact the Planning Department for more information.
You can view the Eagle Pass Code of Ordinances online. Ordinances regulating alcoholic beverages are found in Chapter 5. Zoning changes are addressed in Section 22 of Appendix A. Building regulations are addressed in the International Building Code.
For information about alcoholic beverage licenses, you can contact Imelda Rodriguez, City Secretary, or contact Vanesa Rosales-Herrera, Planning Director.
I dont know..
A subdivision plat is a legal instrument that is prepared by a licensed, registered land surveyor. The plat exhibit includes the dimensions and location of lot lines, streets, and easements. The legal address: Lot and Block information is established with the plat. Plat requirements are specified in Chapter 23 of our local code of ordinances.
Texas law requires that every owner of any tract of land who subdivides the tract into two or more parcels must file a plat. The Platting process is a system that allows municipalities to ensure that all lots are in compliance with the Master Plan and other development standards.
Each plat is reviewed by staff to ensure compliance with regulations such as the following:
A plat is required in the following cases:
There are four different types of plats. Learn more about them on our Plat Types page.
The platting process allows property owners and City staff time to review and respond to development proposals. Upon receiving a plat, the Planning Department distributes copies to the Staff Review Committee which is composed of various city departments. The Staff Review Committee evaluates the project to ensure that it complies with local and state development regulations. If all requirements are met, the Planning Department will place the plat application on the next Planning and Zoning Commission agenda.
If staff identifies any errors or omissions on the plat submittal, the applicant will receive a letter that outlines all the items that need to be addressed. Once all concerns have been addressed, the Planning Department will place the plat case on the next available Planning and Zoning Commission meeting. Final Plats require the approval of both the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council.
To apply, download and complete the Building Permit Application (PDF).
Zoning establishes the types of land uses that are permitted on specific land parcels. Zoning, granted by a City’s police power establishes development standards that specify the following for each zoning district:
Eagle Pass contains 9 zoning districts, which are categorized into residential, commercial, and industrial uses. The regulations for each district can be found by referring to our Code of Ordinances.
The zoning on a specific piece of property can change only through a public hearing process. By voicing their opinion, stakeholders are allowed to participate in the process. The rezoning of a property requires public notification, public hearings, and final approval from both the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council.
An applicant may request a zoning change to allow for a use that is currently not permitted by the existing district. The applicant may rezone to a district that allows for the proposed use, by right or with a conditional use permit.
Conditional use requires that certain “conditions” are met before the use is permitted. Conditions may involve additional screening, buffering, or landscaping requirements to minimize the impacts on adjacent properties.
Conditional use Permits require public participation in the form of notifications and public hearings. The permit must be approved by the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council. An application can be obtained on forms and fees or by contacting the Planning Department.
Anyone may apply for a zoning change, with authorization by the property owner. For more information, contact the Planning Department.
Zoning Change application may be obtained by contacting the Planning Department or downloading the application (PDF).
View our contact information to locate our Tax Office.
Property taxes – also called ad valorem taxes – are locally assessed taxes. The county appraisal district appraises property located in the county, while local taxing units set tax rates and collect property taxes based on those values. Property taxes provide more tax dollars for local services in Texas than any other source of revenue. They help pay for public schools, city streets, county roads, police, fire protection, and many other services.
The amount of taxes paid on a property is based on the property’s taxable value which is appraised by the Maverick County Appraisal District and the tax rate which is adopted by the taxing unit’s governing body.
The value on your property is determined by the Maverick County Appraisal District. The appraisal district is responsible for discovering, listing and appraising all taxable properties within its jurisdiction. The Chief Appraiser is the chief administrator of the appraisal office.
Every year from March through May, the appraisal district sends out notices to property owners whose property values are subject to change. During this period, the property owner may meet with the appraisers and try to come to an agreement. If the property owner is not in agreement with the value, he/she may file a protest and have their case heard by the Appraisal Review Board. The protest, however, must be filed by the deadline given by the appraisal office.
If your property is situated within the city limits, your property will be taxed by the city, county, hospital, and school district. If your property is situated outside the city limits, your property will be taxed by the county, hospital and school district. The hospital taxes are collected by the county.
Exemptions exclude a part or whole value of a property from taxation. This lowers the tax amount due on a property. The taxing entity’s governing body determines what exemptions are offered for each taxing unit. The exemptions offered by the City of Eagle Pass are:
This exemption exempts $9,000 off the total taxable value. To qualify, you must own your home on January 1st, the property owner must be 65 years of age or older and the property be their homestead.
Property owners who qualify for a 65 or Over Homestead Exemption may pay their current year taxes in four equal installments without penalty and interest. In order to qualify for this payment plan, the property owner must notify our office and make the 1st installment no later than January 31st. The payment deadlines are as follows:
This exemption exempts from $5,000 up to $12,000 of the taxable value on any property owned by the taxpayer. The exemption amount is based on the percentage of disability.
All applications for any exemptions must be filled out at the Maverick County Appraisal District. The Chief Appraiser determines if an applicant qualifies for an exemption and notifies the respective taxing units.
2243 N Veteran’s BoulevardEagle Pass, Texas 78852Phone: 830-773-0255
Monday through Friday8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Any change regarding the ownership of a property or change of mailing address must be reported to the Maverick County Appraisal District. The appraisal office will then notify the taxing units of the change.
A property owner who owns a property on January 1 of the year in which the tax is imposed is liable for all taxes due on the property for that year. This means that an owner who owned taxable property on January 1 can be sued personally for delinquent taxes on a property, even if the property has been sold or transferred since then. It is in the best interest of the seller and buyer as well to make sure that the transfer has been filed with the County Clerk’s office and the change of ownership provided to the appraisal district and taxing entities.
The tax bills go out around October 1st of each year and are due upon receipt. Payment for current taxes must be made by January 31st to avoid paying penalties and interest. The taxes become delinquent on February 1st of the following year in which they were imposed and are subject to penalty and interest and possible legal action. Penalties are as follows:
Attorney fees for delinquent taxes are added on the 1st day of July.
Note: If an installment payment is late, a 6% penalty will be added plus 1% interest for every month delinquent.
The taxes become delinquent on February 1st of the following year in which they were imposed and are subject to penalty and interest and possible legal action.
Our office will honor post-marked payments only if it bears a post office cancellation mark of a date earlier than the delinquent date. However, it is the taxpayer’s responsibility to ensure that the payment is stamped with the same date it is delivered to the post office.
Our office accepts cash, money orders, checks and cashier checks. Now accepting online payments.
If your taxes are paid by a mortgage company or bank, it is the responsibility of the mortgage companies and banks to notify our office as to which properties they will be responsible for paying.
Our office will code the accounts accordingly and send the tax bill to the Mortgage Company or Bank only. Mortgage Companies and Banks usually pay our office in December or January. It’s the taxpayers’ responsibility to make sure taxes are paid. We strongly suggest that you call our office to make sure they paid your taxes.
The only items you can place in your automated garbage collection containers are household garbage.
Items that should not be placed in the containers include:
If a customer requires more than one 96-gallon container, an additional container will be provided for an additional monthly cost.
If a container is damaged, misplaced, or stolen, the cost to replace the container is $50.
The automated trucks will pick up only the new containers. Your old trash cans cannot be used.
Trash containers will be picked up once per week.
No, please do not write on the containers.